Federated Philatelic Clubs of Southern California

Distinguished Service Award

solar spectrum

For Valuable Contributions to the Advancement and Enrichment of Philately

The recipients are selected from among active philatelists living in southern California. Their achievements may be national or international in scope as well as local. This award may be given only once to an individual or a couple. The awardee then heads the committee to select the following year's recipient. The presentation is made at the annual SESCAL awards banquet.

RECIPIENTS (deceased in italics)

Year Name Year Name
2016 Not Awarded 2015 Steven Radell
2014 Bill Jansen 2013 Carl Shaff II
2012 Betty Green and Jean Kasper 2011 David C. Pietsch
2010 Jerry & Gerry Winerman 2009 William A. O'Connor
2008 Not Awarded 2007 Dr. Gennaro Santangelo
2006 Dr. Larry Sherman 2005 Alan C. Campbell
2004 Fran Adams 2003 Dr. Jerome V.V. Kasper
2002 Dr. Larry Parks 2001 John S. Weigle
2000 Ray Clary 1999 Howard P. Green
1998 Lester Lanphear, III 1997 George W. Bowman
1996 Al and Greta Hardy 1995 Wallace A. Craig
1994 Lois M. Evans-de Violini 1993 Joann Thomas
1992 Emery and Ursula Nadasy 1991 Werner and Waltraud Helms
1990 James and Marian Bowman 1989 Dulcie Apgar
1988 Robert W. Thompson 1987 John Griffiths
1986 David Leeds 1985 Carl Kilgas
1984 Robert de Violini 1983 Austin P. Haller
1982 Richard S. Willing 1981 Nancy Bleasdale>
1980 John G. Fluck 1979 John J. Blessington
1978 Barbara W. de Violini 1977 Alexander Gage & Edward Fladung
1976 Denver and Marie Henline 1975 Sidney J. Coyne & Jack Stone (posth)
1974 Arthur D. Thomas 1973 Waller Sager
1972 Emerson A. Clark 1971 Klaas and Louise van Ingen
1970 C.W. (Bert) Christian 1969 Emily Moorefield
1968 W.E. (Gene) Tinsley 1967 Earl Oakley

Exemplary Service Award 2008

solar spectrum

Wallace Craig


Presented by Dr. Jerome Kasper



There is a special award that was established in 1987 and has been awarded to only five individuals since its inception. This "Exemplary Service Award" is given to a person "whose dedication and efforts towards the advancement of Philately merits recognition".

We are fortunate to have 4 of the 5 past recipients with us tonight. Will Marian and Jim Bowman and Waltraud and Werner Helms please stand. Their awards were presented to them in 1993, 14 years ago. Their service since then as been no less!! Thank you for all you have done and will do for philately.

This year, a sixth person is being honored. Southern California has been fortunate to have numerous individuals who have in many ways served philately. The award is presented tonight to one who has led many of these efforts for years, contributed to Philately in various ways, and has been critical to the success of SESCAL, the Federation's stamp exhibition.

I am honored to present the Federation's "Exemplary Service Award" to Wallace Craig. Please come forward to receive the plaque symbolizing this award. Although you are stepping down as SESCAL General Chairman, we know that you will continue for many years to serve Philately...Dr. Jerome Kasper



APS Luff Award to Federation Committee

solar spectrum

2017 to SESCAL Bourse Chairman Fred F. Gregory

The 2017 prestigious American Philatelic Society Luff Award recipients are Fred F. Gregory, Alan Kane, and Wade Saadi. Each Luff Award winner is presented with a gold ring to commemorate the occasion.

SESCAL Bourse Chairman Fred F. Gregory, of Palos Verdes Estates, California, is the 2017 recipient of the Luff Award for Distinguished Philatelic Research. A stamp collector from boyhood, Gregory, is a member of the governing boards of several philatelic organizations, and has focused his philatelic interest on the stamps and postal history of 19th-century Hawaii for the past 40 years.

Mentored by Hawaii collectors Thurston Twigg-Smith, Wallace Beardsley, Ed Burns, and others from the prior generation, Gregory became a recognized expert in Hawaiian philately. In the late 1990s, he created the website, Post Office in Paradise, Mail & Postage Stamps of Nineteenth Century Hawaii (hawaiianstamps.com). He has authored numerous articles on Hawaiian stamps and postal history. He authored "Hawaii Foreign Mail to 1870," an award-winning three-volume set edited by Robert Odenweller and published by the Philatelic Foundation in 2012. The set earned numerous awards at the national and international level, including the Grand Award and Gold Medal for Literature at StampShow 2012; the 2012–13 Ashbrook Cup, awarded by the United States Philatelic Classics Society, and a large gold medal at World Stamp Expo 2013 in Melbourne, Australia.

His articles include 2c Ship Fee on Mail from Hawaii via San Francisco, 1849–1855, which appeared in the June 2008 edition of Western Express; and A New Oldest Letter from Hawaii, which appeared in June 2016 in the same publication.

Gregory was born and raised in California. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of California at Berkeley and his juris doctor degree from UC Berkeley’s Boalt Hall. Afterward, with the exception of three years active duty as a legal officer in the United States Coast Guard, he practiced law with the Los Angeles-based law firm Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher from 1965 until his retirement from the partnership at the end of 2003. He specialized in the area of business litigation. He and his wife, Carol, were married in 1967 and raised a daughter and three sons.

Other Committee Luff Award Winners


1997 -- Robert de Violini

Robert de Violini*, Lester E. Winick* and Philip T. Wall received the 1997 Luff Awards. Bob received his award for Outstanding Service to the Society

1991 -- Lois M. Evans-de Violini

Lois M. Evans-de Violini, Mary Ann Owens* and L. N. William* receive the 1991 Luff Awards. Lois received her award for Outstanding Service to the Society





Last updated - September 26, 2017